Programme area

The Northern Periphery and Arctic Programme 2014-2020 covers a vast area, as shown on the map. The programme partner countries are the EU Member States of Finland, Ireland, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom and Sweden and Non EU Member States Faroe Islands, Greenland, Iceland and Norway. A complete list of regions can be found below.

As a principle, project partners should be located in the programme area. Please note that it is not always the entire country that participates in the programme. Below you can find a list of the exact regions in the NPA Programme area. Under specific circumstances it can be accepted that a partner located outside the programme area in particular partners in North-eastern Canada or North West Russia are funded by the programme.

Programme Partner CountryNUTS codeEligible Region
EU Member States
FinlandFI19Länsi-Suomi (Keski-Suomi)
FI1DPohjois-ja Itä-Suomi
IrelandIE01Border, Midland and Western (County Donegal, County Galway, County Leitrim, County Mayo, County Sligo)
IE02Southern and Eastern (County Clare, County Cork, County Kerry, County Limerick)
Northern IrelandUKN0Northern Ireland (excluding Belfast and Outer Belfast)
ScotlandUKM32South Western Scotland (Dumfries and Galloway)
UKM6Highlands and Islands
SwedenSE32Mellersta Norrland
SE33Övre Norrland
Non Member States 
Faroe IslandsFOFaeroerne
SJ Svalbard and Jan Mayen