The Arctic Project Awards 2018 are launched!

We are launching for the second time a project competition called the Arctic Project Awards! The award highlights good practice projects focused on topics of particular relevance to the Arctic area. The competition is open to projects funded by the NPA, Interreg Botnia-Atlantica, Interreg Nord, Kolarctic CBC and Karelia CBC programmes. The deadline for competition entries is 10th June 2018 23:59 CET (UPDATED).

The objective of the Arctic Award is to identify good practice, promote Arctic cross-border collaboration, and raise awareness among projects of each other. The awards aim to highlight innovative projects with a clear Arctic dimension, which are viewed as inspirational in their participating regions as well as being seen as creating real, measurable impacts on the ground, and being of direct benefit to Arctic communities.

This year’s awards will also be open to selected projects that have not yet started their implementation, particularly targeting projects in the two ENI CBC Programmes. In the two award categories, there will be an award for two projects which are able to demonstrate “Arctic Promise”.

This year, the Arctic Awards focus on the following award categories:

CATERGORY 1: Arctic entrepreneurial spirit

  1. The project supports innovative entrepreneurial skills beneficial for people of the high north.
  2. The project supports businesses based on Arctic products and cultural heritage (food, tourism, creative industries, indigenous)

CATERGORY 2: Cold climate opportunities

  1. The Project supports technological innovations specific for cold climates (transport, housing, textile, materials, mining)
  2. The project supports preparedness and risk prevention (healthcare, search & rescue)

One main prize is awarded per category. In addition to the category winners, the 2018 awards will also include per category an Arctic project promise award recognising a project’s potential. For more information, please read the Applicants Guide carefully.

How to participate
In order to participate in the competition, applicants need to complete an online competition entry form in SurveyMonkey. You can preview the questions in this PDF version. The deadline for submitting your application is 31st May 10th June 2018 23:59 CET.

Applications will be examined by a jury representative of all the participating programmes. All applications must be submitted in English.

Award ceremony
The award ceremony is planned to be held during a drinks reception following the European Week of Regions and Cities seminar “Sustainable development of the Arctic region to the benefit of all of Europe” on 9th October at 14.30-16.00 in Scotland House, Brussels, Belgium

Contact information
All enquiries should be sent to Rachel Burn, rachel.burn{at} or kalle.pakalen{at} For more information about the collaboration, please visit the Arctic Cooperation page.