The Arctic Project Awards 2019 are launched!

We are launching for the third time a project competition called the Arctic Project Awards! The award highlights good practice projects focused on topics of particular relevance to the Arctic area. The competition is open to projects funded by the NPA, Interreg Botnia-Atlantica, Interreg Nord, Kolarctic CBC and Karelia CBC programmes. The deadline for competition entries is 26th April 2019 23:59 CET.

The objective of the Arctic Award is to identify good practice, promote Arctic cross-border collaboration, and raise awareness among projects of each other. The awards aim to highlight innovative projects with a clear Arctic dimension, which are viewed as inspirational in their participating regions as well as being seen as creating real, measurable impacts on the ground, and being of direct benefit to Arctic communities.

This year, the Arctic Awards focus on the following award categories:

CATERGORY 1: Sustainable use of resources

Harnessing environmental protection opportunities appropriate for cold climates and Arctic economic development, including but not limited to preserving environmental quality and Arctic natural resources.

CATERGORY 2: Arctic entrepreneurial spirit

The Project supports business based on Arctic opportunities and cultural heritage (food innovation, tourism, creative and cultural industries, indigenous cultural businesses) as well as the assisting of niche industries' move to commercialisation and achievement of critical mass.

One main prize is awarded per category. For more information, please read the Applicants Guide carefully.

How to participate
In order to participate in the competition, applicants need to complete an online competition entry form in SurveyMonkey. You can preview the questions in this PDF version. The deadline for submitting your application is 26th April 2019 23:59 CET.

Applications will be examined by a jury representative of all the participating programmes. All applications must be submitted in English.

Award ceremony
The award ceremony is planned to be held during a festive reception opening the 1st Arctic Cooperation Conference on 18th September at 17.00-19.00 in the Nordatlantic House, Copenhagen, Denmark.

Contact information
All enquiries should be sent to Rachel Burn, rachel.burn{at} or michela.gaifami{at} For more information about the collaboration, please visit the Arctic Cooperation page.