Interreg Northern Periphery and Arctic

An EU funding programme supporting cooperation between remote and sparsely populated communities in the northernmost part of Europe on matters of shared interest. Together we turn ideas into sustainable solutions to improve the quality of life of people living in the NPA.

Our Programme area

The Interreg Northern Periphery and Arctic 2021-2027 Programme forms a cooperation between 7 programme partner countries; the Member States of Finland, Ireland, Sweden in cooperation with the Faroe Islands, Iceland, Greenland and Norway. This large programme area shares a number of common features, such as low population density, low accessibility, low economic diversity, abundant natural resources, and high impact of climate change. This unique combination of features results in joint challenges and joint opportunities that can best be overcome and realised by transnational cooperation.

List of regions included in the Programme Area

As a principle, project partners should be located in the programme area. Please note that it is not always the entire country that participates in the programme. It can be accepted that a partner located outside the programme area, in particular in North-eastern Canada or UK, participates as an associated partner.

A unique opportunity to work together

The primary characteristics that draw the area together are peripherality and low population density. This is an area as large as two thirds of the European Union and stretching across 5 time zones. Approximately 8 million people live in this vast space, resulting in a population density of 6 inhabitants per square km, against the European average of 116. Interreg NPA offers a unique opportunity to collaborate between these countries to jointly develop ideas for a more sustainable and resilient Northern Periphery and Arctic.

Apply for funding

Sign up to our newsletter

With the newest calls and events from our newsletter